Brewer/Progress Update

Brewer Introduction

Before I start brewing at the Tavern I should give myself a bit of an introduction to let you know who I am. I am Jeff and Susan Gecas’ nephew and I grew up on Gunflint Lake and have spent my entire life in Cook County except for the years I attended college. My dad began brewing years before I was born so I grew up around it, often helping him during the process, and thankfully he will be bringing his experience to the Gun Flint Tavern to assist in brewing. I started brewing on my own in college a little over four years ago, where I had a great group of home-brewing friends to share my batches with.

Image

Brewing is a major creative outlet for me—right from the start I was experimenting with my own recipes, exploring different beer styles, and searching for innovative ingredients. The endless directions I want to pursue have always left me excited about the next beer I make. It’s wonderful that craft beer drinkers expect this attitude from the industry as well, and it helps professional brewers stay creative and enthusiastic. I am overjoyed to bring this philosophy to the Gun Flint Tavern, especially since it is very similar to their approach to the food menu.

To help get experience working on a much larger scale I was able to spend time at the Thirsty Pagan Brewpub in Superior, Lake Superior Brewing Company of Duluth, and Lucid Brewing out of Minnetonka. It was a really insightful experience and I learned more every day. The strong brewing community in Minnesota is so incredibly friendly and helpful. For everywhere I went and everyone I talked to I was welcomed with excitement about the new brewpub and given so much information and encouragement. It really drew me even more to an industry that views competition as a beneficial and educational thing to the craft beer community.

There is nothing more exciting than to be able to create handcrafted beers in your hometown for an eager audience and I am so happy to be a part of this new progression of the Gun Flint Tavern. I hope you all are excited as well, as we continually move closer to serving beer made on premise!

Progress Update

In the past two weeks we have received our Federal Brewer’s Notice, filed for our State license, and moved forward on window and door installation meaning that we are getting ever closer to installing equipment and crafting our first test batches on the big system! We are grateful that excitement and anticipation has continued to grow during this process, as well as exposure, and we would like to thank you for your support and encouragement.

Image

Speaking of exposure, in case you missed it Derek Allmendinger did a nice piece for the MN Beer Activists featuring the Gun Flint Tavern: http://mnbeeractivists.com/newsfeed/gun-flint-tavern-and-brewpub Check it out!

Please stay posted for more updates and as always, email me with any additional questions and comments!

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Brewer/Progress Update

  1. Thanks for the update and introduction. We live in Duluth, but spend a considerable amount of time up the shore and when in Grand Marais we always stop in to the Gun Flint Tavern, (GFT). We love craft beer and appreciate the way the GFT supports local craft beer and serves nothing but craft beers, no big beers at tGFT. Way to go! We’re really looking forward to getting to try your house brews!
    Lee@NorthlandBeer.com

Leave a Reply

